PRSA Houston Legacy Award

The prestigious annual Legacy Award recognizes a distinguished professional for outstanding lifetime achievement in the field of public relations.

Candidates for the Legacy Award must be a current or former Houston chapter member and have at least 25 years of experience in public relations. Chapter members are encouraged to nominate a colleague, mentor or role model who meet these criteria. The award may be given posthumously. The winner is honored at the annual PRSA Houston Excalibur for Excellence Awards Gala.

Submission Guidelines

Nominations should demonstrate the candidate's leadership and expertise in the field of public relations. Entries should include a brief summary of the nominee and will be judged on the following:

  • Outstanding service to his/her company, community, organization or educational institution
  • Outstanding service to PRSA Houston
  • Honors, awards & recognition, and Accreditation
  • Advancing the body of knowledge and public image of the profession through teaching, writing, speaking, mentoring, and/or PRSA volunteer/leadership positions


Entry Deadline

Deadline for the 2021 award submission will be announced in early 2021.

Legacy Award Winners

  • 1998 James W. Hart (verified)
  • 2000 Ralph Frede, APR, Fellow PRSA (deceased Jan. 4, 2005)
  • 2001 Tom Stewart, APR, Fellow PRSA (deceased Jan. 9, 2019)
  • 2002 Sabra Gill, APR, Fellow PRSA (deceased March 2009)
  • 2003 Gayle McNutt, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2004 Will Osterloh, APR, Fellow PRSA (deceased April 7, 2005)
  • 2005 Guy Brown, APR
  • 2006 Graham Painter, APR
  • 2007 Dr. Robert Heath, APR
  • 2008 Phillip Taggart, APR (deceased April 30, 2018)
  • 2009 Julie Fix, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2010 Kris Taylor, APR
  • 2011 Dr. Barbara Langham, APR
  • 2012 George Nelson, APR
  • 2013 Ben Wheatley, ABC, APR
  • 2014 Judi Martin, APR
  • 2015 Margot Dimond, APR
  • 2016 Deborah Buks, APR
  • 2017 Phil Morabito
  • 2018 Lee Vela
  • 2019 Sally Mathis Ramsay
  • 2020 Henry Garcia, MA, APR

* If you see errors on this page or have additional information to add, please notify our chapter administrator at [email protected]